Cortrinkau's Blog

Flowers around campus

In the month of April I developed a hobby of taking pictures of flowers I saw when walking around in my daily life. I like being able to capture them in full bloom, because it's so transient and temporary. For many of these flowers, the next time I walked past this area they had withered and become desiccated from the hot sun. (Most are not native to this area.)

orange-flowers-seen-from-above

These remind me of orange blossoms. The flowers look so much more verdant when seen from above.

pink-flower-petals

I like how lush and verdant the petals on these flowers are.

little-red-flowers

Little red flowers next to a building used for meditation.

yellow-tulips-at-the-corner-of-a-building

The flowers next to buildings are matched to the color of the brick wall they're placed against.

tulip-with-delicate-petals

The striped white-and-red petals are my favorite. During the Dutch tulip craze, striped tulips were the most expensive, and red-and-white striped ones were the most prized of all.

tiny-flower-in-the-sunlight

This flower was so much less ostentatious than the others, I thought it deserved a spotlight of its own.

little-white-flowers

Behind the building for the philosophy and theology departments.

Cortrinkau's Blog

These flowers, bleeding hearts, grow in my grandmother's backyard. When I was little I used to pick them and try to exchange them for things as a currency.

bright-orange-almost-marigold

yellow-and-red-tulips

daffodils-at-the-observatory

These flowers grow by the shed next to the observatory.

dust-on-flower-petals

I love how you can see the pollen on the petals of the flower, it reminds me of gold dust.

yellow-flower-from-above

yellow marigold

A marigold

#botany #flowers #photography