Cortrinkau's Blog

Art gallery for human art

This is where I post art I've made myself. All of the art on this page was made by hand or digitally.

2024

Cortrinkau's Blog

An illustration I made with colored pencils, ink, and silver pigment marker. Inspired by the work of early-twentieth-century artist Virginia Sterett.

2023

In 2023 I took a course in oil painting, something I'd been wanting to do for years. Below are a variety of paintings I produced during this time. Cortrinkau's Blog

Cortrinkau's Blog

Cortrinkau's Blog

Cortrinkau's Blog

Oil paintings.

Cortrinkau's Blog

Cortrinkau's Blog

Cortrinkau's Blog A series of refrigerator magnets, each 2 inches in diameter and laser cut. The flower magnets and most of the tree magnets are textured, and the others are 2-dimensional.

Cortrinkau's Blog Bees! I was inspired to make this when I visited New York over break and saw Albrecht Dürer's engravings. I really like elaborately detailed drawings formed just out of thin black lines.

2021

Cortrinkau's Blog

There is an ancient Roman myth that the god Zeus was pursuing the goddess Hera, and during a storm he transformed into a wounded cuckoo so that she would take care of him. I wanted to make the background for this image appear soft to go with the theme.

2018

Cortrinkau's Blog

The inspiration for this was a mountain creature that has fallen asleep for so many years that trees, moss, and wildlife start living on top of it.

Cortrinkau's Blog

A woman I saw on the train in Switzerland. The thing with drawing strangers is that you have to be careful they don't notice you drawing them.

Cortrinkau's Blog I thought gas masks were cool when I was 15. They would soon become cool again, but for very different reasons.

Cortrinkau's Blog A deep sea diver. But that hand... isn't quite attached to their body. Whose hand is it?!? Maybe a mermaid?

2017

Cortrinkau's Blog The story behind this was that the baby had been abandoned, but the skeleton decided to raise it as its own. It took me a while of staring at reference photos to figure out how all the bones along the spine were supposed to go. I did the inking during the down time when I used to work on crew for my high school's theatre program (costumes, paint, and construction)

~2014

Cortrinkau's Blog I used to make these elaborate dolls by hand, inspired by Salley Mavor's creations. They are made by taking pipe cleaners, wrapping embroidery floss around them for the limbs, and making them felt clothing. The hats are acorn caps.

Cortrinkau's Blog

Some dolls got really tiny -- the design on her dress (either a heart or a bird raising its wings) is only five stitches.

#art #artgallery